Online Banking

SCU Credit Union Go to main content
Facebook Twitter Print

SCU Credit Union Awards $25,000 in Scholarships to Local Students


Sharon, MA — June 18, 2024 — SCU Credit Union is proud to announce the recipients of its 2024 Scholarship Awards. This year's ceremony took place at the SCU Credit Union operations center in Sharon, MA, celebrating the achievements of 11 outstanding high school students from various local schools.

Celebrating Academic Excellence

The scholarship recipients represent the diverse culture of our community. These students will be attending a variety of schools in the fall, each pursuing different fields of study ranging from engineering and medicine to arts and humanities. Their unique paths and chosen disciplines highlight the broad spectrum of talent and ambition present in our local youth.

“Our scholarship recipients exemplify the diverse and dynamic spirit of our community,” said Howard Spiller, Chairman of the Board at SCU Credit Union. “They are heading to an array of educational institutions this fall, where they will explore a wide range of academic fields. This diversity of thought and ambition is what makes our community strong, and we are proud to support their journeys.”

This year, we are thrilled to award a total of $25,000 in scholarships to the following exceptional students:

  • 2024 Scholarship RecipientsSharon High School – Tanishtha Jha
  • Foxborough High School – Katelynn Dineen (Ohio State University - Health Sciences and Physical Therapy)
  • Walpole High School – Paul Donlan (Worcester Polytechnic Institute - Mechanical Engineering)
  • Brockton High – Steven Nascimento (UMass Boston - Musical Theatre), Toril Patel (Springfield College - Finance), Ciara Lopes (Dartmouth College - Psychology)
  • Cardinal Spellman – Alexis Morse
  • Norwell High – Nolan Abreu (UMass Amherst - Business)
  • North Attleboro High – Victoria Connors (Elon University - Dance Science and Physical Therapy)
  • Taunton High – Nicholas Woodware (Culinary Institute of America - Business Management and Culinary Arts)
  • Mansfield High – Juliana Neto (University of New Hampshire - Hospitality and Tourism Management and Sustainability)

These students have demonstrated remarkable academic achievements and community involvement, making them deserving recipients of the SCU Credit Union scholarships. 

Investing in the Future

"Our scholarship program is a testament to SCU Credit Union's commitment to education and community development," said Glenn Parsons, President & CEO of SCU Credit Union. "We are honored to support these young individuals as they pursue higher education and strive to make a positive impact in their communities."

The scholarship awards are part of SCU Credit Union's ongoing efforts to invest in the future by providing financial assistance to students who have shown dedication and excellence in their studies. By alleviating some of the financial burdens associated with higher education, SCU Credit Union aims to empower these students to achieve their academic and professional goals.

About SCU Credit Union

SCU Credit Union is committed to serving its members and the community by providing financial services, education, and support. With a focus on excellence and community involvement, SCU Credit Union strives to make a positive difference in the lives of its members and the broader community.

For more information about the SCU Credit Union Scholarship Program and other community initiatives, please visit our website at or contact us at

« Return to "News and Events"